My Favorite Detroit Lions-Kick Returner Desmond Howard

I have been a fan of the Detroit Lions since 1989. That is about a lifetime and to be fair they have brought a lot of sadness and misery into my life. If pain makes one strong then Detroit Lions fans are among the strongest fans in the universe. However, when I think about my favorite sports moments a lot of good Lions memories are there. I am from Detroit, my kid was born in Detroit and I rep my city and its teams. That means I bleed silver and Honolulu blue. While I think that they are on the right track now that has not always been the case. Even though I wanted to do a top 25 list to be very honest the Matt “The Idiot” Millen years make that near impossible. With that in mind here are my twenty favorite Detroit Lions players from my 28 years of Lion fandom.

With that being said:

desmond

#15-KR #80 Desmond Howard

To be fair Desmond Howard did not accomplish a whole lot in three plus seasons as a member of the Detroit Lions. However, he did win a Heisman Trophy at Michigan and he was a Super Bowl MVP so getting him to finish out his NFL run with the Lions was really cool. Michigan football has always been a very big deal around where I live and having this guy with the Lions made all us Lions fans warm and fuzzy.

Let us also not forget that in his Lions debut he returned a kick to the house.

Other than that this is really a nostalgia pick. It was done on the cheap and to help sell tickets and there is nothing wrong with that. I have seen entire football leagues try and draft young local talent that can help a team establish a base. IN the wake of Barry Sanders retirement it was an okay move to bring this guy in even though he had been cut by the Green Bay Packers.

Read more about my Favorite Detroit Lions players here

Leave a Reply

