30 Day Blogging Challenge: GoT Day Twenty

It feels like forever since I have had any new Game of Thrones to watch…or any new A Song of Ice and Fire to read. In little over a month we all will get the seventh season of the hit HBO show. I am betting we will not get the last two books until the show has completed its run in 2018. I hope I am wrong about that but more and more it feels like that is what is going to happen. That means for now the show will be the officially unofficial canon of Westeros will be the show. As a writer I am not super happy about that but as a fan I just need my GoT fix already.  To help satisfy that need I embark upon a 30 day blogging challenge about Thrones. I am going to try to answer each prompt once for the TV show and once for the books since a great many things differ. With that being said…

Day Twenty-A character I hate that I use to like

I am going to have the same answer for books and show for very different reasons.

Davos Seaworth is a guy I was a huge fan of in the books. He was the first person to see through Melisandre’s nonsense. Much like Stannis Baratheon he is unmovable off his convictions and beliefs. The problem I have his Stannis forgives him for his battle with Melisandre and then forgives him again when he sets Edric Storm free. That seems very unStannis like and I am not quite sure that he is even needed in the story. Maybe his end should have come on Dragonstone.

davos

In the show we get a different version of the story and we see Davos get his revenge on Melisdre after she burns a small child at the stake. In the show he is an adviser to Jon Snow and again he is just sort of there. I am not sure he has anything left to offer the story. Should they have killed him during the battle of Winterfell? Should he have found out about what Stannis allowed to happen to his own child and been the one to strike the killing blow?

For me Davos is kind of like the Han Solo of Game of Thrones. His part of the story is over and maybe the writers should have the courage to simply get rid of him. In a story with this many main characters why hold onto this guy whose responsibility to carry the story forward has passed.

While I can’t say I hate Ser Davos I can say that in both mediums I have grown tired of his arc. That could change especially in the books because what is coming could be great and maybe this is just a lull for him. In the show he just needs to die already and maybe he will this season it seems almost for certain that a number of notable charactes will be lost in the war to come.

Read more of my 30 day GoT blogging challenge here

Leave a Reply

