30 Day Blogging Challenge: GoT Day Nineteen

It feels like forever since I have had any new Game of Thrones to watch…or any new A Song of Ice and Fire to read. In little over a month we all will get the seventh season of the hit HBO show. I am betting we will not get the last two books until the show has completed its run in 2018. I hope I am wrong about that but more and more it feels like that is what is going to happen. That means for now the show will be the officially unofficial canon of Westeros will be the show. As a writer I am not super happy about that but as a fan I just need my GoT fix already.  To help satisfy that need I embark upon a 30 day blogging challenge about Thrones. I am going to try to answer each prompt once for the TV show and once for the books since a great many things differ. With that being said…

Day Nineteen-A character I like but use to hate

The most obvious answer to this question is Jamie Lannister. In the show the first thing of consequence we see him do his push a little kid out of a window. We also see him plowing his sister and he virtually admits to murdering The Hand of the King in his first scene. He is set up for us to hate him both in the show and in the books.

jamiebaths

Then George RR Martin takes us on a journey and we start to see Ser Jamie as a more sympathetic character. As we start to sympathize with him he suffers for his foul ways and at least in the books we really start to see Jamie as a different person. We start to understand why he is the way he is and then we start to like him because in the books he starts to make possibly better but at least different choices.

So far on the show we have not seen his transformation into something else. What we got instead was a scene filmed to stir up controversy and social media posts and that is really too bad. It is without a doubt my biggest problem with what the show has done to the story and it really seems to me that it was merely done to stir the pot. I personally believe the content of this story is of such a quality that lame publicity stunts like that one are not necessary.

In both mediums however I think Jamie is my answer. There are other characters I do not like but for the most part I still don’t like them.

Read more of my 30 day GoT blogging challenge here

Leave a Reply

