30 Day Blogging Challenge: GoT Day Sixteen

It feels like forever since I have had any new Game of Thrones to watch…or any new A Song of Ice and Fire to read. In little over a month we all will get the seventh season of the hit HBO show. I am betting we will not get the last two books until the show has completed its run in 2018. I hope I am wrong about that but more and more it feels like that is what is going to happen. That means for now the show will be the officially unofficial canon of Westeros will be the show. As a writer I am not super happy about that but as a fan I just need my GoT fix already.  To help satisfy that need I embark upon a 30 day blogging challenge about Thrones. I am going to try to answer each prompt once for the TV show and once for the books since a great many things differ. With that being said…

Day Sixteen-Favorite Scene

Can I just say the Red wedding and move on?

Would that be that ultimate troll?

I am not real sure how to answer this one. I think I would have different answers for the show and the books but that scene implies a visual element I think and will confine myself to the TV show.

I suppose I could go the old perv route and talk about that scene in the cave, but in terms of moments that really hit home I will choose a different Jon Snow and Ygritte scene.

I speak of course of Ygritte’s death which lacked an emotional blow in the books given the fact that we don’t really see her die. In the show not only do we see her die but we get one final quote, “we should’ve stayed in that cave.” Talk about hitting the audience right in the feels. I really enjoy this scene for a more personal reason and that of course means it has to do with a girl. I don’t think I am going to share that story here because it is a part of one of my books. So by the book and find out why I like this scene so much.

Ygritte_dies

We could also debate whether or not she would’ve shot Jon and personally I am side of Tormund Giantsbane in this one. Had she wanted to kill Jon Snow she would have. I don’t see her choosing to shot Jon in this scene at all.

This scene is one of the small changes I didn’t mind as the story changed mediums. Several small little things like this have made the show that much better over how I envisioned it in my own head as I read the books.

Read more of my 30 day GoT challenge here

 

Leave a Reply

