30 Day Blogging Challenge: GoT Day Seven

It feels like forever since I have had any new Game of Thrones to watch…or any new A Song of Ice and Fire to read. In little over a month we all will get the seventh season of the hit HBO show. I am betting we will not get the last two books until the show has completed its run in 2018. I hope I am wrong about that but more and more it feels like that is what is going to happen. That means for now the show will be the officially unofficial canon of Westeros will be the show. As a writer I am not super happy about that but as a fan I just need my GoT fix already.  To help satisfy that need I embark upon a 30 day blogging challenge about Thrones. I am going to try to answer each prompt once for the TV show and once for the books since a great many things differ. With that being said…

Day Seven-Favorite Episode

This is a tough one. There have been 60 episodes so far. I think several of them all stick out because they are masterpieces of film. I speak of course of the 6 episode nines. The penultimate episode of every season is where most of the stuff goes down and of the six two in my mind stand apart from all the others. I speak of the one location episodes of season 2 and season 4.

Mull on that for a moment and I will tell a story about one of my favorite scenes and episodes just because of the dumb thing that happened during it.

So I hd recently been divorced and was bingeing Thrones with a new girl. My ex-wife shows up to pick up the boy for her weekend visitation, For some reason she asked to hang out for half an hour or something. For some other reason she asked the girl in my house…whatever. The new girl and I were laying on one couch watching and the ex-wife was sitting on the other couch. We get to one of those infamous sexposition scenes…specifically the one where Littlefinger gives some big speech while two girls go at.

It was a tad bit uncomfortable for obvious reasons. The girl looks at me and is trying not to laugh turning bright ass red…I am trying to play it off but her turning red is really fucking funny to me and I am trying not to laugh. The ex-wife gets all pissed off cause it looks like we have some big inside joke about her (which of course we did) but that is not why this shit is funny. It’s funny because it was uncomfortable as all hell for all three of us and the image of that girl turning bright ass red is seared into my cortex.

Back to the matter at hand.

The two single location episode nines are my favorite and I am not sure if I could pick one over the other. Each is pretty freaking awesome for very different reasons. They both feature battles that could have gone either way. Season five has an additional heart tug in it that was one of the few things the show did better than the books.

For me I guess I would have Blackwater 1A and The Watchers on the Wall 1B.

Read more of my 30 day GoT challenge here

Leave a Reply

