30 Day Blogging Challenge: GoT Day Five

It feels like forever since I have had any new Game of Thrones to watch…or any new A Song of Ice and Fire to read. In little over a month we all will get the seventh season of the hit HBO show. I am betting we will not get the last two books until the show has completed its run in 2018. I hope I am wrong about that but more and more it feels like that is what is going to happen. That means for now the show will be the officially unofficial canon of Westeros will be the show. As a writer I am not super happy about that but as a fan I just need my GoT fix already.  To help satisfy that need I embark upon a 30 day blogging challenge about Thrones. I am going to try to answer each prompt once for the TV show and once for the books since a great many things differ. With that being said…

Day Five-Favorite Moment

This sounds like one of those ones that should have different answers based on what we read or saw. However, for me I think there is one scene in both mediums that stands out from all the rest.

My all time favorite scene is set in the baths of Harrenhall and takes place between Ser Jamie Lannister and Brienne of Tarth.

jamiebaths

It is our first look into a likable side of Jamie. Up to that point he had been nothing more than a child hurler, sister banging, smart ass mouthed scoundrel. In that one scene our entire perception of this man is changed.

While it is true George Martin as done this with many of his characters this was one of the first and for me the most profound. He changed my feelings about this rather complicated man in one scene. We also get the backstory of how Robert’s rebellion took the capital city and just how bat shit crazy King Aerys actually was.

That scene contains a very deep moment that is not defined by gratuitous violence or awkward (often icky) sexual encounters in both mediums and I truly believe it will always be my favorite.

Read more of my 30 Day GoT challenge here

The Scene

Leave a Reply

