30 Day Blogging Challenge: GoT Day Two

It feels like forever since I have had any new Game of Thrones to watch…or any new A Song of Ice and Fire to read. In little over a month we all will get the seventh season of the hit HBO show. I am betting we will not get the last two books until the show has completed its run in 2018. I hope I am wrong about that but more and more it feels like that is what is going to happen. That means for now the show will be the officially unofficial canon of Westeros will be the show. As a writer I am not super happy about that but as a fan I just need my GoT fix already.  To help satisfy that need I embark upon a 30 day blogging challenge about Thrones. I am going to try to answer each prompt once for the TV show and once for the books since a great many things differ. With that being said…

Day Two-Favorite Female Character

This is one of those that is going to be very different given the particular medium.

On the show I really like Cersei Lannister. She is a great villain and isn’t portrayed as just a stupid idiot like she is in the books. For me she seems much more like an empowered woman of the 21st century in the show. In the books I feel like she wants to be that but has not idea how to get to that point. She makes a ton more really dumb mistakes in the books. In A Feast for Crows I think we see her behaving at her most foolhardy. Where her walk of atonement in the show actually made me feel bad for that version of Cersei, I have never ever felt any thing but hate for the book version of her.

cersei

Now in the books I think my favorite female is Sansa Stark. It would be cliche to say Arya Stark because Arya is fucking awesome and we all know that. However I really like how Sansa has been portrayed in print. Of all the characters we have met in the books Sansa is the only one that is innocent. She is naive and she is young but of the lot she is the only truly innocent one and that makes her unique. I really dislike how her arc was dealt on the show.

Read more of my 30 day Game of Thrones Blogging Challenge here

Leave a Reply

