30 Day Blogging Challenge: Magic the Gathering Day Twenty-Nine

So Magic the Gathering is a game, the collectible card game, but I think most of you reading this know that already. I played way back when the Revised Edition was the main set. I was probably a senior in high school at the time. When they started changing rules and taking certain cards out of print I stopped playing and eventually I needed a large chunk of cash for a new car and I cashed in my collection and never looked back. 

23 years later my son and I were looking for a hobby to share. Something that we could do and enjoy together. That is when I found the game again. We bought a Duel Deck and had a ton of fun with that for two weeks and then found a local game shop and are enjoying not only playing but building up a collection of cards.

As a way to commemorate my return to the game and his beginning in the game I found a 30 day MTG blogging challenge and I want to share that with you all here.

With that being said:

Magic_the_gathering-card_back

Day Twenty-Nine-Favorite Deck

I know that I am old. I know this because I have played this game now in two very different eras. Those two eras being separated by twenty plus years and a marriage and child-bearing and all that adult shit that makes life complicated. With that in mind I am going to have two very different answers.

Era #1 is the kitchen table MTG era where 100% of the games I played in were done at the kitchen table with kitchen table type decks. These were decks built out of the players favorite cards inefficient as all hell and often times overly huge. This was a time before my play group had found a LGS to hang out at, find different matches up and really learn the game at a higher level.

I had an at least 100 card goblin deck. If I were to use the MTG slang of today I would say it was a mono-red goblin deck built around going wide with a strategy of dropping goblins for free every turn. This wa accomplished in a number of ways and the only really good thing about the deck was it dropped a lot of creatures very fast. IT was not a great deck, it was not an efficient deck but of the decks I had in this era it was my favorite.

Now I play MTG in the modern era where 50% of my matches are with the fellas (and growing number of females which is awesome) at my LGS. 5% of my matches are in competitions, and the rest play testing decks at home with my boy. Decks now days are sleek…60 cards…and fucking efficient. In this environment my favorite deck right now is mono-red burn. I like it because it takes what has become a complicated game and made it far simpler. The goal of this burn deck is to do as much damage as possible from turn one on. The ideal starting hand is a mountain and a lightning bolt. Three points of damage on turn one and never taking my foot of that gas. It is so much fun to play. By far it is my favorite casual deck to play.

Of course I have several other main decks and several decks being built up and the great thing about this game is that at some point one of those decks will become my favorite either because it wins a lot, is fun to play, or is just freaking awesome.

Let me give a big shout-out to MTG The Walkers Lounge on Facebook, A great place for all things MTG.

Check out the rest of my 30 MTG blogging challenge here

Leave a Reply

