30 Day Blogging Challenge: Magic the Gathering Day Twenty-Eight

So Magic the Gathering is a game, the collectible card game, but I think most of you reading this know that already. I played way back when the Revised Edition was the main set. I was probably a senior in high school at the time. When they started changing rules and taking certain cards out of print I stopped playing and eventually I needed a large chunk of cash for a new car and I cashed in my collection and never looked back. 

23 years later my son and I were looking for a hobby to share. Something that we could do and enjoy together. That is when I found the game again. We bought a Duel Deck and had a ton of fun with that for two weeks and then found a local game shop and are enjoying not only playing but building up a collection of cards.

As a way to commemorate my return to the game and his beginning in the game I found a 30 day MTG blogging challenge and I want to share that with you all here.

With that being said:

Magic_the_gathering-card_back

Day Twenty-Eight-Favorite Card Ever

The great thing about MTG is this is an answer that cn change literally every time someone buys another cards, a pack, or any other MTG product. When I started playing this game I was a kid with a limited amount of disposable income. That meant that essentially I built up one deck at a time and my favorite card ever was whatever card made that deck work well. The first card I can remember being super excited about pulling was Demonic Tutor.

Now I am a single father with a limited amount of disposable income. OF course Young me’s disposal income is < adult me’s disposable income. That means I don’t have one main deck these days. The boy and I each have three. We are also building up three more in different formats. These days for me my favorite card is whatever thing I find that makes my decks work better. I recently l purchased my first Jace Beleren cards and that is among my favorites right now.

Hold on a sec…let me test a theory…

youngpyromancer

So I just asked the boy what his favorite card is and after about 10 seconds of thought he said Young Pyromancer. That of course is the theory that is first and fastest response is the one cards that is his favorite or at least the one that is on his mind.

Let me give a big shout-out to MTG The Walkers Lounge on Facebook, A great place for all things MTG.

Check out the rest of my 30 MTG blogging challenge here

Leave a Reply

