30 Day Blogging Challenge: Magic the Gathering Day Twenty-Six

So Magic the Gathering is a game, the collectible card game, but I think most of you reading this know that already. I played way back when the Revised Edition was the main set. I was probably a senior in high school at the time. When they started changing rules and taking certain cards out of print I stopped playing and eventually I needed a large chunk of cash for a new car and I cashed in my collection and never looked back. 

23 years later my son and I were looking for a hobby to share. Something that we could do and enjoy together. That is when I found the game again. We bought a Duel Deck and had a ton of fun with that for two weeks and then found a local game shop and are enjoying not only playing but building up a collection of cards.

As a way to commemorate my return to the game and his beginning in the game I found a 30 day MTG blogging challenge and I want to share that with you all here.

With that being said:

Magic_the_gathering-card_back

Day Twenty-Six-Favorite Tournament

I guess the thought behind this one is my favorite tournament to play in. Not having played in a lot of tournaments it feels kind of difficult to answer but I look at the cost of playing in tournaments and realize that some of them are just out of reach.

Since it costs somewhere around one thousand dollars to build out a competitive modern deck, and since primarily this is a hobby for my son and I to enjoy together modern just seems out of reach for us. As a single parent I just don’t have two grand to sink into a hobby of any sort. It is a huge turnoff for the entire format and to be really honest I don’t find the idea of spending that kind of money to build a deck off some list on the internet fun or entertaining. Since those are my two primary reasons for coming back to MTG I do not see us ever playing modern.

Standard looks like fun and for a returning player and a parent of a new player it seems that this is a format where we can enter and be relatively on the same knowledge base as everyone else. My son has his 40 card deck from Amonkhet pre-release and with the help nad guidance of the owner of our LGS and the guys we like to play with there we are helping him build out a competitive standard deck. Maybe at the end of 2018 if we are still doing that bridges the gap to the modern format.

For our skill level I very much enjoy sealed limited events. We played in a Two Headed Giant sealed event and while we didn’t far very well had a lot of fun with. We also had a lot of fun at pre-release. Since the cost is kept down, we also get our hands on new product, and there is the opportunity to win something that is where my son likes to play. He is also becoming quite good at it.

For me personally I like Pauper events. I like taking the cards I spent real money on and doing something with them beyond them collecting dust on a shelf. I don’t see why pauper isn’t more of a things since all of us have a huge pool of cards to build decks out of, A couple of months into this adventure and my son and i own probably 5,000 cards total. Of them maybe 500 are in decks we feel are good enough to invest more time and money into. That leaves us 4,500 cards lying around why not be creative and use those cards to build decks out of? That is called value and I look at my collection of commons and un-commons and the pauper as a place to get immediately value from the purchases of different products. I have two pauper decks at the moment and plan to build a pauper commander deck and hopefully convince some of the fellas at our awesome LGS that its a format that will cost almost nothing to compete in.

Leave a Reply

