30 Day Blogging Challenge: Magic the Gathering Day Twenty-Five

So Magic the Gathering is a game, the collectible card game, but I think most of you reading this know that already. I played way back when the Revised Edition was the main set. I was probably a senior in high school at the time. When they started changing rules and taking certain cards out of print I stopped playing and eventually I needed a large chunk of cash for a new car and I cashed in my collection and never looked back. 

23 years later my son and I were looking for a hobby to share. Something that we could do and enjoy together. That is when I found the game again. We bought a Duel Deck and had a ton of fun with that for two weeks and then found a local game shop and are enjoying not only playing but building up a collection of cards.

As a way to commemorate my return to the game and his beginning in the game I found a 30 day MTG blogging challenge and I want to share that with you all here.

Magic_the_gathering-card_back

With that being said:

Day Twenty-Six-Favorite Card from the New Set

I suppose right now this means favorite Amonkhet card. That is a little tough since the only Amonkhet cards I have are what I got at the open house and what came in my pool for the pre-release tournament. I played four matches with an Amonkhet limited deck and did not fair so great…I just did not have enough removal.

Over the week I have been working Amonkhet cards from that event into my main decks but I have not had a lot of opportunity to play them much. I did pull the Gideon of the Trials and even got to play him but the only thing he did was keep me alive for 3 additional turns. That is a lot, but that match was already over. I traded him off for cards that will make my main decks better.

harshmentor

I had two Harsh Mentors at the end of the pre-release events and it seems like people are all over those as I have already traded away both of them. It appears to have a lot of value for standard players but that isn’t me and I am not sure it ever is going to be. More on that tomorrow.

I just have not had enough time with the cards to pick a favorite at the moment. I am using my Amonkhet stock to build up my casual decks that I just enjoy playing. A lot of Amonkhet cards have made it into those decks but as of today I do not have one I like better than any others. Maybe the Mentor because he has given me a lot of value on the trade market.

Let me give a big shout-out to MTG The Walkers Lounge on Facebook, A great place for all things MTG.

Check out the rest of my 30 MTG blogging challenge here

Leave a Reply

