30 Day Blogging Challenge: Magic the Gathering Day Twenty-Two

So Magic the Gathering is a game, the collectible card game, but I think most of you reading this know that already. I played way back when the Revised Edition was the main set. I was probably a senior in high school at the time. When they started changing rules and taking certain cards out of print I stopped playing and eventually I needed a large chunk of cash for a new car and I cashed in my collection and never looked back. 

23 years later my son and I were looking for a hobby to share. Something that we could do and enjoy together. That is when I found the game again. We bought a Duel Deck and had a ton of fun with that for two weeks and then found a local game shop and are enjoying not only playing but building up a collection of cards.

As a way to commemorate my return to the game and his beginning in the game I found a 30 day MTG blogging challenge and I want to share that with you all here.

Magic_the_gathering-card_back

With that being said:

Day Twenty-Two Favorite Instant

IT seems the fellas at my LGS and I have the best card in MTG debate quite often. This is not quite that this is more of a card that you love to play but for me it comes down to efficiency. There is no argument that I have ever heard that can convince me that Lightning Bolt is not the most efficient piece of removal in the entire game. One red for three damage to a creature or a player. Not only is it efficient it can be used in any number of ways.

bolts

The applications of this instant are many…for example:

  • three damage to the face of your opponent
  • three damage to a creature that blocked this turn but did not die yet
  • three damage to a blocking creature that lets another creature hit your opponent
  • and on and on and on

Anyone who truly enjoys playing red has a playset of bolts. There is a reason an uncommon goes for four bucks these days…because it is hella effective. I have found a cheaper way to achieve a slightly better effect but bolts remain my favorite instant.

Let me give a big shout-out to MTG The Walkers Lounge on Facebook, A great place for all things MTG.

Check out the rest of my 30 MTG blogging challenge here

Leave a Reply

