30 Day Blogging Challenge: Magic the Gathering Day Twenty

So Magic the Gathering is a game, the collectible card game, but I think most of you reading this know that already. I played way back when the Revised Edition was the main set. I was probably a senior in high school at the time. When they started changing rules and taking certain cards out of print I stopped playing and eventually I needed a large chunk of cash for a new car and I cashed in my collection and never looked back. 

23 years later my son and I were looking for a hobby to share. Something that we could do and enjoy together. That is when I found the game again. We bought a Duel Deck and had a ton of fun with that for two weeks and then found a local game shop and are enjoying not only playing but building up a collection of cards.

As a way to commemorate my return to the game and his beginning in the game I found a 30 day MTG blogging challenge and I want to share that with you all here.

Magic_the_gathering-card_back

With that being said:

Day Twenty-Favorite Creature

I have a feeling that whatever one I pick is going to be something old school.

However, as I get back into MTG and deeper into custom deck building I can honestly say that my favorite creature is anyone that allows me to win or works well into the theme of the deck I place it.

When I first started playing this game I had an affinity for Nightmares, Serra Angels, Shivan Dragons, and anything Goblin. Now days,m with such a huge pool of cards to choose from, I like the creatures that synergize well with each other. In whatever combinations my brain comes up with. Building decks and play testing them is like my favorite thing to do.

Every week at my LGS I get something new, with some new mechanic I need to familiarize myself with. This week has been filled with messing around with the Level Up Creatures from the Rise of the Eldrazi set. As with most things MTG some are ok, some are good, but it doesn’t seem like any of them are game changing.

Since I am playing a lot of white…Serra Angels are among my favorite flyers. My son’s red deck features Shivan Dragons as a late game win condition. I also have a stack of cards on my desk that I am trying to turn into a black/red Vampire tribal deck.

However, as for one singular creature I am not so sure I can pick out one…or why I would even want to. I think that directly stems from my changing ideals of deck building. As those ideals become more sophisticated maybe one creature to build around will pop up but the strength of this game is in how vast it really is.

Let me give a big shout-out to MTG The Walkers Lounge on Facebook, A great place for all things MTG.

Check out the rest of my 30 MTG blogging challenge here

 

Leave a Reply

