30 Day Blogging Challenge: Magic the Gathering Day Sixteen

So Magic the Gathering is a game, the collectible card game, but I think most of you reading this know that already. I played way back when the Revised Edition was the main set. I was probably a senior in high school at the time. When they started changing rules and taking certain cards out of print I stopped playing and eventually I needed a large chunk of cash for a new car and I cashed in my collection and never looked back. 

23 years later my son and I were looking for a hobby to share. Something that we could do and enjoy together. That is when I found the game again. We bought a Duel Deck and had a ton of fun with that for two weeks and then found a local game shop and are enjoying not only playing but building up a collection of cards.

As a way to commemorate my return to the game and his beginning in the game I found a 30 day MTG blogging challenge and I want to share that with you all here.

Magic_the_gathering-card_back

With that being said:

Day Sixteen-Favorite Card Combo

This is the part of MTG that I struggle with. I never built decks around combos and that seems to be what competition decks and EDH decks are all about. It is something I struggle not only to get it right in my own head but to build a functional deck around some huge combo. That isn’t what I think this game should be about. But things are what they are so I struggle to find the cards that do fun combos.

A lot of this frustration I know stems from not knowing the cards very well. There are so many cards and I was away from the game for so long that knowing what is good together is nearly impossible till you acquire it and play with it. Everyday and every game I play I gain that much more knowledge about how the cards work together.

The big positive here is Amonkhet comes out very soon and at least with that block I will be on equal footing. I already have some Amonkhet cards that were in welcome packs and have already played with them. I feel very good about building combos next weekend for pre-release. IF this hobby sticks with my kid come back and read a post about combos in a year…we all know it will be quite different.

fling

For now let me give my very unsophisticated take on combos I do with that cards I play with a lot. In my red deck I have Fling and a bunch of 4/1 creatures that are chuck blockers and then flingers. I like to have that go off with any one of a ton of other red burn spells to do 8-10 points of damage. Lightning Bolt, Rift Bolt, whatever spell I have in my hand I find myself waiting for that bigger combo effect.

At the moment nothing more complicated than that comes to mind.

Let me give a big shout-out to MTG The Walkers Lounge on Facebook, A great place for all things MTG.

Check out the rest of my 30 MTG blogging challenge here

Leave a Reply

