30 Day Blogging Challenge: Magic the Gathering Day Eight

So Magic the Gathering is a game, the collectible card game, but I think most of you reading this know that already. I played way back when the Revised Edition was the main set. I was probably a senior in high school at the time. When they started changing rules and taking certain cards out of print I stopped playing and eventually I needed a large chunk of cash for a new car and I cashed in my collection and never looked back. 

23 years later my son and I were looking for a hobby to share. Something that we could do and enjoy together. That is when I found the game again. We bought a Duel Deck and had a ton of fun with that for two weeks and then found a local game shop and are enjoying not only playing but building up a collection of cards.

As a way to commemorate my return to the game and his beginning in the game I found a 30 day MTG blogging challenge and I want to share that with you all here.

Magic_the_gathering-card_back

With that being said:

Day Eight-Favorite Planechase Plane

Having just returned to MTG I am not at all familiar with this. I have seen some folks playing it at my LGS but I have yet to give it a whirl. It seems kinda complicated and the folks at my LGS seem to enjoy playing this in EDH games. I am not in love with EDH and it seems to be kinda hard to find a newcomers game for that particular format.

From what I have seen here is what I like…This is yet another way to play the game. Over 20 years ago my friends and I started playing MTG. We did a three-day marathon session at my kitchen table that was just brutal. We were just learning and the coolest car any of us was a freaking Kurd Ape. For me there was a lot of fatigue in those long gaming sessions so naturally I am a huge fan of anything that shakes up how the game is played.

Keeping the game fresh is a big deal because back in the day things could get very stale. When I started playing there were only hundreds of cards to build decks from not thousands. The goal was to build one deck that was super strong and play and learn that deck. With no LGS in the area that means once we had one deck that was really working we had ten guys building decks just to beat that one. To be frank it got stale fast. Once they started releasing expansion sets that helped and of course once we got tapped into a MTG community we started seeing fresh decks. However having something like planechase to randomize games up would have been very useful back then.

Let me give a big shout-out to MTG The Walkers Lounge on Facebook, A great place for all things MTG.

Check out the rest of my 30 MTG blogging challenge here

Leave a Reply

