30 Day Blogging Challenge: Magic the Gathering Day Four

So Magic the Gathering is a game, the collectible card game but I think most of you reading this know that already. I played way back when the Revised Edition was the main set. I was probably a senior in high school at the time. When they started changing rules and taking certain cards out of print I stopped playing and eventually I needed a large chunk of cash for a new car and I cashed in my collection and never looked back. 

23 years later my son and I were looking for a hobby to share. Something that we could do and enjoy together. That is when I found the game again. We bought a Duel Deck and had a ton of fun with that for two weeks and then found a local game shop and are enjoying not only playing but building up a collection of cards.

As a way to commemorate my return to the game and his beginning in the game I found a 30 day MTG blogging challenge and I want to share that with you all here.

Magic_the_gathering-card_back

With that being said:

Day Four: Favorite Deck from Favorite Format

I am what the young people call an old school guy. Old school in attitude and old school in how things use to be. Not that everything back in the day was better because simply it wasn’t. When I started playing MTG the Internet wasn’t really a thing yet. It certainly was not the unstoppable beast that it is today.  So I am not a huge fan of net-decking or of building decks from what people on the Pro Tour are doing or of using sites and buying singles to build decks. If you want to see what my deck is and how it works…lets play. I am down for a game anytime and am nearly always at Friday Night Magic at my LGS. I do accept invitations to travel to other LGS’s to play meet new folks and of course buy and trade cards.

In my house there 10 decks that are playable and at least four more under construction. Of the 10 I like the deck I named Shivan Madness a whole lot and it isn’t even mine. I built it as a simple deck to teach my son how to play. It is mono red…guess what it does…

shivan

Other than that I have a Blue Control deck,  a White Gain Life deck, and a Green Nissa deck that was mostly pre-constructed. I also have two pre-con Commander decks. Of those I like the White deck the most.

So back in the day my play group was about ten of my friends from high school. There were a few other hangers-on but there was a core ten. Back then in my town there was no LGS so we bought our magic cards at a sports card shop. We played on the kitchen table at whichever house we were crashing at that night. MTG was an arms race between the ten of us. Someone would find something cool that would work and the rest of us would have to find a way to beat it.

Eventually we found a hobby shop that had an indoor RC course. On Mondays they would have the MTG folks in and we would go…all of the time. This place was in a higher class neighborhood than where we lived and we were now playing against stacked decks. This was around the time 4th edition was out and the expansions were Arabian Nights, and Antiquities for sure and maybe one more. Legends may have come out during the time we played there.

The point here is I never had the cash to compete with these kids who could dump tons of loot into their decks. So I had to get creative. I had to find sneaky ways to out perform decks and there was no internet to help me do it. I had to do it by having an idea, play testing that idea, and even get whooped on a few times to refine said idea into a legit tactic. It made me appreciate the art of deck construction and that is why I prefer to buy a bunch of cards or packs…search for an idea or synergy…then play and refine it.

I love this game because of how I can customize the experience. I think net decks really take away from that. But hey I am the guy who is age appropriate to yell at the youngsters on my grass.

Let me give a big shout-out to MTG The Walkers Lounge on Facebook, A great place for all things MTG.

Check out the rest of my 30 MTG blogging challenge here

Leave a Reply

