30 Day Blogging Challenge: Magic the Gathering Day Three

So Magic the Gathering is a game, the collectible card game but I think most of you reading this know that already. I played way back when the Revised Edition was the main set. I was probably a senior in high school at the time. When they started changing rules and taking certain cards out of print I stopped playing and eventually I needed a large chunk of cash for a new car and I cashed in my collection and never looked back. 

23 years later my son and I were looking for a hobby to share. Something that we could do and enjoy together. That is when I found the game again. We bought a Duel Deck and had a ton of fun with that for two weeks and then found a local game shop and are enjoying not only playing but building up a collection of cards.

As a way to commemorate my return to the game and his beginning in the game I found a 30 day MTG blogging challenge and I want to share that with you all here.

Magic_the_gathering-card_back

With that being said:

Day Three: Favorite Format

I have not had the chance to play all the formats in the modern game yet. Mostly I play modern and/or what I suppose is considered casual. That was how I learned to play this game 20 years ago. However there are some fun formats out there that seem to be a very good challenge for deck building skills.

I do a have a Commander deck, but that format is not among my favorites. I just don’t find it very fun to play and at the end of the day this is supposed to be fun. I have a few ideas to build other Commander decks and I think once i get one that really works I will like it a lot more. After years of having playsets to build around the challenge of building a 100 card deck without any repeating spells is immense.

I like Modern because it gives me the biggest pool of cards to pool from. While I was away from the game for 20 plus years sometimes that challenge can seem a little overwhelming. However, I like finding neat cards putting them in a deck and just see what they can do alone or paired up with others. For me that is the fun of MTG.

I really wanna try Pauper. However, I cannot find anyone to play this format with me.  It has always been the same in MTG, once you build a really good deck for say modern you are going to have leftover commons and uncommons often by the fistful why not try building a deck out of them and just test your skill of deck building.  I see this format almost as a anti-commander format and for some reason no one at my local game store feels like challenging their skill set this way.

In the end I guess the format I like best is whatever game I can get into at my LGS. Or whatever my kid feels like playing that day. Sit down tell me the rules and I will build a deck for it…

Check out the rest of my 30 MTG blogging challenge here

2 comments

  1. binnightpodcast · April 6

    Any challenges you came across getting back into MTG again? I am an older player looking to get back in, and I’m thinking Pauper is the way. Now with family and commitments, doing the crack a pack or buying higher rarity cards is out of the question.

    Like

    • joshlobdell · April 6

      If you have someone to play with I would suggest buying a duel deck. 20-25 bucks for 2 decks that for the most part play pretty well against each other. That was the first product I bought and it worked pretty well. Some of them are more unbalanced but card kingdom.com has these two color battle decks that are 60 cards and people say they have better synergy. I think they are 10 bucks a pop so that could be a great starting point as well. Welcome back to the game…maybe we can get a game sometime

      Like

Leave a Reply

