30 Day Blogging Challenge: Magic the Gathering

So Magic the Gathering is a game, the collectible card game but I think most of you reading this know that already. I played way back when the Revised Edition was the main set. I was probably a senior in high school at the time. When they started changing rules and taking certain cards out of print I stopped playing and eventually I needed a large chunk of cash for a new car and I cashed in my collection and never looked back. 

23 years later my son and I were looking for a hobby to share. Something that we could do and enjoy together. That is when I found the game again. We bought a Duel Deck and had a ton of fun with that for two weeks and then found a local game shop and are enjoying not only playing but building up a collection of cards.

As a way to commemorate my return to the game and his beginning in the game I found a 30 day MTG blogging challenge and I want to share that with you all here.

Magic_the_gathering-card_back

With that being said:

Day One: Favorite Color

This is a tough one since all five colors so something different and in different ways. When I was a kid I really liked Red. Red is aggressive and can drop a lot of creatures and has very fun spells. Lightning Bolt might be the best Magic cards ever (3 damage for one mana is just awesome). I would certainly think it is one of the best Instants ever. Now though red does not hold the appeal for me that it once did.

After I was practiced in the art of deck building I built what would be called a Blue Control deck that was also largely Merfolk Tribal. That was a lot of fun back then playing cards like Magical hack and all the revised madness that went on back then. I built a black deck that was all Demonic Tutors and Demonic Attorneys just to screw people out of their cards or lose….yes Ante was still a thing then. I never really messed around with white or green too much and I am not sure if that was a choice or simply based on the cards I was pulling out of packs.

When I started playing again I had a green duel deck that was ok. I mean green is great for casting and growing big creatures but I got bored with it pretty quick. I bought a big box of un-commons and commons and found all the pieces for a White Gain Life deck and I spent the next two weeks building and refining that and now it is my favorite deck and my favorite color. I also got Swords To Plowshares in my pre-con Commander deck and that just made me smile.

white

I suppose as of today that white is my favorite color but that could change tomorrow as I crack packs, get new cards, and build new decks. That is the great thing about this game your experience is always evolving.

Leave a Reply

