Star Wars March Madness: Eight Seeds

It is finally March and that means it is time for brackets. All kinds of brackets from College Basketball to dessert toppings and everything in between. With that in mind this blog will be doing a Star Wars authors bracket.

I am taking on the Vince McMahon role for this endeavor. That means I picked the authors who I felt most qualified to be considered. I don’t think I made any huge omissions but some of you may…This is the 32 authors I think have had the most impact on the Star Wars book universe and more importantly have entertained all the Star Wars book readers. They will be broken into four brackets; Luke Skywalker, Darth Vader, Yoda, and Grand Moff Tarkin. The Authors have been seeded  1 through 8 again most due to my own personal judgement while taking into consideration how the authors works are viewed by the readers at large.

With that being said I give you the eighth seed in the Grand Moff Tarkin Bracket and final seed of the tournament:

Greg Bear

While I am not a huge fan of prequel era star wars stuff…Someone gave me Rogue Planet for Christmas the year it came out and I read it…and I actually liked it. Something about a living planet really appealed to me. IT was not something we had seen before and since I read this book before I got into the New Jedi Order series I stumbled my way into reading the prequel of that story in correct chronological order.

rogueplanet

Rogue Planet was published in May of 2000 in the middle of the NJO series intial run and it is of course a way to tie in the books to the prequel era. Normally I frown upon book from 30 years past the Original Trilogy tieing back to prequel era movies and books. However I thought this was handled really well. Mostly because it is just the back story of something that will come towards the end of the NJO run. I am really down on later attempts by writers to do this as they became minor plot points that were just annoying to read. Especially when Luke finds the recordings of Anakin Skywalker and Padme in R2-D2’s memory banks.

This book tells a story of Anakin and Obi-Wan Kenobi  going to the planet Zonama Sekot. I think I like this story because it explores their relationship a lot. At this point in the timeline Anakin is 12 and he tends to get himself into trouble and Kenobi has t spend some time pulling him out of it. This story also tells some back story of Wilhuff Tarkin and as far as I can tell that remains consistent with new canon works about our favorite Imperial.

As a #8 seed Greg Bear will have to earn a first round victory to secure an invitation to future tournaments. He draws a match-up against #1 seed Timothy Zahn for the first round and faces a near impossible task of moving on.

Fan Voting is now Live on Facebook and Twitter.

Help Support Star Wars Book Club on add a copy of Rogue Planet to your collection by using the following Amazon link:
Rogue Planet (Star Wars)

Follow Star Wars Book Club on Twitter @swbc2017

Like and Follow Star Wars Book Club on Facebook

Leave a Reply

