Star Wars March Madness: Six Seeds

It is finally March and that means it is time for brackets. All kinds of brackets from College Basketball to dessert toppings and everything in between. With that in mind this blog will be doing a Star Wars authors bracket.

I am taking on the Vince McMahon role for this endeavor. That means I picked the authors who I felt most qualified to be considered. I don’t think I made any huge omissions but some of you may…This is the 32 authors I think have had the most impact on the Star Wars book universe and more importantly have entertained all the Star Wars book readers. They will be broken into four brackets; Luke Skywalker, Darth Vader, Yoda, and Grand Moff Tarkin. The Authors have been seeded  1 through 8 again most due to my own personal judgement while taking into consideration how the authors works are viewed by the readers at large.

With that being said I give you the sixth seed in the Darth Vader bracket:

John Ostander

john_ostrander

Take a moment and think about the vastness of the Star Wars Galaxy. I have been seeing Star Wars movies in the theater my entire life, and I am old enough that I graduated high school before the Internet became the next big thing. I have been reading Star Wars books for 20 years and there are a number of Star Wars authors who I am not familiar with. Then there is John Ostander who may be the most prolific Star Wars comic book writer of them all. I know virtually nothing about him or his work.

Which brings me a point where I want to discuss how and why I picked these 32 writers for this tournament. Since this is a Star Wars Book Club Joint…we are focused on guys who have published written word works. So I stayed away from writers from the TV and movie projects. I also wanted to include authors from both timelines to see how the fans react. It was important to include writers from all the big areas of Star Wars publishing; books, comics, and young adult books.

Ostander writing work includes being the main writer of Star Wars: Legacy. This comic series is set 137 after the Battle of Yavin and the main character is Cade Skywalker who is a bounty hunter of all things. This is an era of civil war as a Sith Lord sits on the Imperial throne and facing challenges on all sides. This comic would run for 50 issues.

For his next series Ostander would go a lot farther in the other direction. Star Wars: Dawn of the Jedi takes place 26,000 before Episode 4. This series tells the tale of an order of force sensitives that eventually became the Jedi Order.

On top of that Ostander also contributed greatly to the Star Wars: Republic book which was a comic series set in the prequel era. Many of his arcs from this comic would go onto be published as trade paperback collections.

He also worked on Star Wars: Vector. There he teamed up with John Jackson Miller for a series  that takes a single character on a journey through several continuities. That is a very interesting idea to me, and after I become more versed in the comics as a whole it is something I will definitely be checking out.

Help support Star Wars Book Club and add some Star Wars: Vector to your collection by using the following Amazon link:
STAR WARS LEGACY VOL 4 5 & VECTOR VOL 2 SLIPCASED EDITION

Follow Star Wars Book Club on Twitter @swbc2017

Like and Follow Star Wars Book Club on Facebook

Leave a Reply

