Star Wars March Madness: Five Seeds

It is finally March and that means it is time for brackets. All kinds of brackets from College Basketball to dessert toppings and everything in between. With that in mind this blog will be doing a Star Wars authors bracket.

I am taking on the Vince McMahon role for this endeavor. That means I picked the authors who I felt most qualified to be considered. I don’t think I made any huge omissions but some of you may…This is the 32 authors I think have had the most impact on the Star Wars book universe and more importantly have entertained all the Star Wars book readers. They will be broken into four brackets; Luke Skywalker, Darth Vader, Yoda, and Grand Moff Tarkin. The Authors have been seeded  1 through 8 again most due to my own personal judgement while taking into consideration how the authors works are viewed by the readers at large.

With that I give you the fifth seed in the Grand Moff Tarkin bracket:

Greg Keyes

keyes

I am very familiar with Mr. Keyes’ Star Wars work having read all three of his Star Wars novels at least twice. He wrote three of the novels in the New Jedi Order series, including the penultimate novel.

conquest

His first two books were the Edge of Victory duology, The first book, Conquest, centers the story of Anakin Solo and his young friend Tahiri Veila. Its a great coming of age tale as Anakin for the most part is on Yavin by himself and must make choices about what kind of person/Jedi he is going to be. The main antagonists of the book are the humans from the Peace Brigade and we learn a lot about the Yuzhaan Vong, their culture, and their shamed ones.

There was to be a trilogy of book that came before this novel and the story goes that it was to deal with some of these elements as well as Danni Quee who was introduced in Vector Prime. If the NJO series has a flaw the way Quee gets lost in the overall narrative through the middle part of the series is assuredly it.

The second book, Rebirth, focus on several stories but at its core once again is Anakin and Tahiri. Added to the mix this time is Corran Horn. It is here where we begin to see the effects of the Vong torture of Tahiri. That is a plot point throughout the rest of the Expanded Universe. By this point in the EU for me the stories that focused on the non-movies characters became my favorite. It is a shame Tahiri likely will not make it to the new canon.

prophecy

Keyes’ final EU contribution would be The Final Prophecy. What sticks out to me about this novel is the arc that ties it back to the novel Rogue Planet. My first time reading through the NJO series was I was pretty confused about the living planet thing. Even though the search for the planet was detailed in the Force Heretic trilogy. I think a lot of that has to do with my distaste for concentrated efforts to link the EU to the prequel era, and some mental exhaustion due to reading a series as big as the NJO series was (19 books for those counting at home).

I guess I always view this book as moving the pieces around the map to get them setup for the finale. Every time I get to this book doing reread I think that and I always attribute it to nerd exhaustion as this is a massive series of books.

Help Support Star Wars Book Club and add a copy of Edge of Victory: Conquest to your collection by using the following Amazon link:
Edge of Victory 1: Conquest (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order)

Follow Star Wars Book Club on Twitter @swbc2017

Like and Follow Star Wars Book Club on Facebook

Leave a Reply

