Star Wars March Madness: Four Seeds

It is finally March and that means it is time for brackets. All kinds of brackets from College Basketball to dessert toppings and everything in between. With that in mind this blog will be doing a Star Wars authors bracket.

I am taking on the Vince McMahon role for this endeavor. That means I picked the authors who I felt most qualified to be considered. I don’t think I made any huge omissions but some of you may…This is the 32 authors I think have had the most impact on the Star Wars book universe and more importantly have entertained all the Star Wars book readers. They will be broken into four brackets; Luke Skywalker, Darth Vader, Yoda, and Grand Moff Tarkin. The Authors have been seeded  1 through 8 again most due to my own personal judgement while taking into consideration how the authors works are viewed by the readers at large.

With that being said I give you the fourth seed in the Luke Skywalker bracket:

Chuck Wendig

wendig

Chuck Wendig is the Author of the Aftermath trilogy. It is the first trilogy, post Episode Six, of the new Star Wars canon. I placed him in this bracket because I am hoping for a showdown between the Aftermath Trilogy and the Thrawn Trilogy. We shall see if that storyline develops.

Personally I think the first book of this trilogy gets a real bum rap. First and foremost there is a tweener generation of Star Wars fans who grew up without any Star Wars movies in the theaters during their formative years. This fans are what I think of as the core group of Expanded Universe fans. So when Disney wiped away the EU these fans felt like the mouse had stolen their Star Wars away from them. A lot of these fans took to the internet to ridicule Aftermath and Mr. Wendig. That’s not really fair as it is hard to knock a book which is part of a trilogy. At best we are only reading a third of the story. Overall the Aftermath trilogy is very good and I am only two-thirds the way through it. I am listening to a the New Canon Star Wars podcast talking about Life debt as a write this and they love that installment as well.

star_wars_aftermath

The biggest gripe I hear about this book is its style. This is book is written in present tense which is a very large departure from the EU novels which are mostly written in Third Person God tense where we the reader are looking in on the events. There are some first person point of view novels and they seem to be the less popular EU novels. On top of that it seems that this book was rushed to hit bookstores in the ramp up to Episode Seven.

I did not have the problems that others had with this book. I can dig the style because for the last six years I am been reading first person point of view stories from George RR Martin. I don’t have any problem with any of the characters of their lifestyles. And it is pretty clear that Chuck knows a lot about the Star Wars Universe. He is a fan, and the fans are the ones that should be writing the books.

The first book sets the stage, and it was up to Wendig to not only set the stage for his characters but the entire Star Wars Universe post Return of the Jedi. That is a huge task and to be quite frank I think he did a great job in doing so. We get caught up with where the Rebel Alliance is, where the Empire is, and what is going on in the universe. We also get the back story of a character from Episode Seven. Honestly the expectations for this book were set so high no one was going to meet them. The good news the next book is much better and if the third book improves at the same rate this trilogy should end up being pretty great.

lifedebt

Aftermath: Life Debt moves the story more to characters we know and love. The gang from the first book is off on a new mission and a good chunk of this book deal with Han Solo and Chewbacca and the liberation of Kashyyk. My only real complaint about new canon is that Han is a pretty unlikable character and that is a little off-putting. I am not sso sure I like the way Leia is portrayed in canon books either but we got some of that from Jainia Solo’s point of view in the later half of the EU.

Empires_End_cover

I have not read Aftermath: Empire’s End yet. I also do not want to spoil anything for anyone but I think it is safe to say that this book features the battle of Jakku and the final battle of the Galactic Civil War.

I will say this I think keeping Luke Skywalker mostly out of the narrative is a huge mistake. Unless there is some huge surprise waiting me in Empire’s End or another stand alone Luke book coming the largest question left unanswered so far is how Luke goes from ROTJ to the bearded guy in the final scene of The Force Awakens.

Help support this blog and add Aftermath: Empire’s End to your collection by using the following Amazon link:
Empire’s End: Aftermath (Star Wars) (Star Wars: The Aftermath Trilogy)

Follow Star Wars Book Club on Twitter @swbc2017

Like and Follow Star Wars Book Club on Facebook

Leave a Reply

