Star Wars March Madness: Two Seeds

It is finally March and that means it is time for brackets. All kinds of brackets from College Basketball to dessert toppings and everything in between. With that in mind this blog will be doing a Star Wars authors bracket.

I am taking on the Vince McMahon role for this endeavor. That means I picked the authors who I felt most qualified to be considered. I don’t think I made any huge omissions but some of you may…This is the 32 authors I think have had the most impact on the Star Wars book universe and more importantly have entertained all the Star Wars book readers. They will be broken into four brackets; Luke Skywalker, Darth Vader, Yoda, and Grand Moff Tarkin. The Authors have been seeded  1 through 8 again most due to my own personal judgement while taking into consideration how the authors works are viewed by the readers at large.

With that being said I give you the second seed in the Yoda bracket:

John Jackson Miller

johnjacksonmiller

It is really too bad I have never read the Star Wars comics because I have enjoyed this guys work for years and he get his start there. That statement seems to begrudge the comics a little because everything John Jackson Miller has done is quality. Maybe I need to make a trip to a comic book store and see just how good his comics are.

Milller’s first work in the Expanded Universe was the Knights of the Old Republic comic book. Dark Horse published the book for five years. In all there are 52 issues. The entire series serves as a prequel to the Knights of the Old Republic video game.

knight_errant_novel

He would move on to the Knight Errant series in 2010. This comic would run for three-story arcs and have 15 issues before being shut down. At this point Miller made the move to Del Rey and the world of Star Wars novels.

Miller’s first job writing for Del Rey was a series of ebooks known as the Lost Tribe of the Sith. These stories deal with the back story from one of the main antagonists from the Fate of the Jedi series. I got my first Kindle right around this time and these books were the first thing I read on it. They are very enjoyable and offer a very unique look at the inner workings of the Sith.

From the Miller would pen the Kenobi novel which was one the final installments of the Legends timeline published. I have not had a chance to read this book yet, but based on his body of work I am sure it is a great read.

anewdawn

Miller would make the jump to the new world of Star Wars canon and write on the first books in the Disney timeline A New Dawn. This novel takes place six years before the TV show Star Wars Rebels and serves as the prequel to that series. One of the best Star Wars books ever written I could not put it down once I obtained my copy of it. I read it over a weekend and plan to read it again in the near future.

Help Support this blog and get a copy of A New Dawn for your collection by using the following Amazon link:

Star Wars: A New Dawn

Follow Star Wars Book Club on Twitter @swbc2017

Leave a Reply

