Star Wars Author March Madness: Two Seeds

It is finally March and that means it is time for brackets. All kinds of brackets from College Basketball to dessert toppings and everything in between. With that in mind this blog will be doing a Star Wars authors bracket.

I am taking on the Vince McMahon role for this endeavor. That means I picked the authors who I felt most qualified to be considered. I don’t think I made any huge omissions but some of you may…This is the 32 authors I think have had the most impact on the Star Wars book universe and more importantly have entertained all the Star Wars book readers. They will be broken into four brackets; Luke Skywalker, Darth Vader, Yoda, and Grand Moff Tarkin. The Authors have been seeded  1 through 8 again most due to my own personal judgement while taking into consideration how the authors works are viewed by the readers at large.

With all of that being said I give you the second seed in the Darth Vader bracket:

Aaron Allston


With 13 Star Wars novels on his resume we could argue that Aaron Allston is deserving of a number one seed. However I think in any large multimedia project like Star Wars some writers are hired to create, and others are hired to move the plot along. Allston has always felt as a move the plot along kind of writer. That is not a knock. I would not speak ill of another writer who has accomplished way more that I likely ever will nor speak ill of the dead. I enjoy Aaron’s novels a lot. I am just pointing out more than creating new characters he was taking established characters and moving their plots along.


Now that I have said all that let me go against every word of it. Allston’s first foray in to Star Wars books was the fifth installment of the X-Wing series titled Wraith Squadron. This installment moved the story away from Rogue Squadron and introduced a few new characters. Most notable of these are Myn Donos. The X-Wing series are my among my favorite books of the entire Expanded Universe and even with the changes from the first four to the Wraith Squadron part I found the overall arc are very entertaining.

His next novel would continue the saga of Wraith Squadron in the sixth X-Wing series book, Iron Fist. This is the earliest example of book publishers using books to ret-con the past. This book without a doubt paints Warlord Zsinj in a far better light than his debut does in The Courtship of Princess Leia. This is a really fun read, and the unconventional way Wraith Squadron goes about things is very entertaining.

Solo Command was Allston’s next Star Wars work and it continues the story from the previous one and serves as the back story for Han’s frame of mind heading in TCOPL. When a reader reads these books in chronological order having these details adds a lot to the reading of Courtship. Allston would next write the ninth installment of the series called Starfighters of Adumar.


From there Aaron would pen the 9th and 10th books of the New Jedi Order series. He brings his unique style to the war with the Yuuzhan Vong. These two books deal with the fallout from the loss of Coruscant. Wedge Antilles is placed in charge of a fleet and told to invade and hold the world of Borealis. What follows over the course of the duology is very reminiscent of the Wraith Squadron books with a ton of intrigue thrown in. This is a very fun read and one of the more light chunk of the NJO series.

After that Allston would write the opening novel in the Legacy of the Force series. This book sets the stage from the Second Galactic Civil War and Jacen Solo’s fall to the dark side. In all he would write three books in the series; Betrayal, Exile, and Fury.

This formula of having three writers write one installment of a nine part series in turn proved very successful and Del Rey would use it again with the next series, Fate of the Jedi. Once more Allston would be hired to pen the first, fourth, and seventh installments of the story. In Outcast Luke is arrested and deported off Coruscant and he and his son Ben undertake a journey to discover how/why Jacen fell to the dark side. In Backlash the main plot moves the action to Dathomir and plants the seeds of Ben’s love for a sith apprentice the duo met at Sinkhole Station. The seventh book in the series, Conviction, may be the best in the entire series and plots lines are concluded and the overall story is set up for its end run. The first time I read this book I found myself being surprised by where the story was going.

Allston’s final Star Wars novel would be the tenth and final book in the X-Wing Series.This book takes place along side of the final Fate of the Jedi Book, Apocalypse. It brings Wraith Squadron back into the main plot line of the EU.

Aaron Allston would pass away in 2014, and that sadly means we will never know what he could have brought to the Disney timeline.

Help support this blog and pick up the X-Wing series anthology by using the following Amazon link:

The X-Wing Series: Star Wars Legends 10-Book Bundle: Rogue Squadron, Wedge’s Gamble, The Krytos Trap, The Bacta War, Wraith Squadron ,Iron Fist, Solo Command, … Mercy Kill (Star Wars: X-Wing – Legends)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s