30 Day Star Wars Blogging Challenge: Day Twenty Five Favorite Expanded Universe book

share

Day Twenty Five Favorite Expanded Universe book

I have no idea how to go about answering this one. There are so many books…so many good books…but let’s be real honest there are more than a few stinkers. I am happy to see The Force Awakens reimagine some of these themes and characters but I am looking for Disney to release some great book. Aftermath a Journey to The Force Awakens was a very mediocre installment. I will be reading the next two books in that series as they get released.

There are so many books, so many to choose from but I think at the end of the day the New Jedi Order series are my favorite. I don’t think I could narrow that down to one book or story but that series was so good. I remember being at the book star for every release…ya know back in the day when there were bookstores everywhere…damn you kindle.

AgentsChaos1_PB

This is a twenty book series with at least two other short stories that were put on on the internet…and I think both of them ended up getting put into print as the series went on. These twenty books for me represent the absolute best of the EU.

As I read through this series for the very first time I doubted if our collected group of heroes could win. In fact I thought a lot more of our group of heroes would die beyond Chewbacca. And no fuckers that’s not a spoiler one it was written something like 15 years ago and two…according to Disney…never happened.

This series has it all…we see the new Jedi deal with their powers and cope with the pressure of fighting a war and not engaging in dark side powers. These books also explore the if certain things, like force lightning, are really powers of dark side users only. It is full of tragedy and people die, which is important because my main complaint with the EU as a whole is none of our heroes ever die. Which seems ridiculous given all that these characters go through.

For me this is the best the EU has to offer.

30 Day Star Wars Challenge

Leave a Reply

