30 Day Star Wars Blogging Challenge: Bonus Favorite Moment from The Force Awakens (SPOILERS)

share

Bonus Day Favorite The Force Awakens moment

I have now seen this movie twice. Let me say this if you have not seen it yet…don’t read this post. Come back after you have and see what you think.

Last Warning.

star-wars-force-awakens-official-poster

My first impression of this movie is it was little more than a remake of Episode 4 A New Hope. I am not saying that in a bad way…but I was really looking for them to go in a different direction. Again I am not saying it was bad, or it is the prequels…but I was slightly disappointed in seeing a universe that hasn’t changed very much in 30 some years. The story has not advanced at all. In fact we can argue that things are worse off after the fall of the Empire we saw in the last film.

This is the beginning of something new, but to be blunt I am not a big fan of seeing a movie that is just a place setter.  This is the art versus commerce argument played out in real life and the reason I started this blog because this is what I want to talk about. This movie has made a ton of money…it will be the biggest movie of all time and yet it did very little to advance the story of Star Wars. I firmly believe every time I buy a ticket to something the story should get advanced. What took place in this movie was just table setting for the new Disney Star Wars Universe. So not only did I waste my money on all of the books of the expanded universe…I bought a ticket to this move and I feel like I didn’t get my money’s worth. I am not saying this is a bad movie…I am saying in the grand scheme of things it didn’t show us anything new…

I did however like elements from the books being reimagined with the new story. This is something we can talk bout at length another time.

With that being said my favorite moment is when Han Solo is done in by his son, Kylo Ren. Not because Han died but because it changes the stakes. As the expanded universe went on and on my biggest complaint was that no one ever died. Sure Chewbacca eventually does…but the stakes these main characters regularly face makes it impossible that they would all survive. Han’s part of the story is done…and he is not needed anymore. That means they can take his death and place all of the heat for his murder and place it on Ren for killing who was probably the most popular non Jedi character in this entire saga.

We can now hate Kyle Ren for a real reason…and let go of our irrational hate of Jar Jar…not really fuck Jar Jar…which is my second favorite moment in this movie…the first line…’This will begin to set things right.’

30 Day Star Wars Challenge

Leave a Reply

