30 Day Star Wars Blogging Challenge: Day Eleven Favorite Battle

share

Day Eleven Favorite Battle

This is a tough one. Every movie features a epic war battle, and every movie features a lightsaber duel of some kind. I think that battle implies more than two participants so let’s set aside the lightsaber contests for another day. Let’s focus on the epic space battles, and the various ground campaigns of the two trilogies.

In fact I am going to pick one of each. For fighting on the ground I am going with the Battle of Hoth…because AT-AT’s. How freaking awesome are they? So awesome for the last 7 years I have had one on my desk and even with the Ex Girl who loved to disrespect Lord Vader it remains one of my favorite Christmas Presents ever. Even if my evil ex-wife bought it for me. Yes, I know the rebels lose this battle but hey what can you do…I lean towards the dark side in all things.

For space battles I am going with the Battle of Endor. There is so much drama there. The rebels get led into a trap, the Emperor thinks he can destroy the rebel fleet, Han Solo has to get the shield down so they can meet their objective of destroying another Death Star. The Executor gets shot down…the Empire loses…it’s just awesome. In the original trilogy I think this is the only battle between Capital ships on both sides…we see that a lot more in the prequels but by and large the battles of the Orig Trig are fought via fighters. The only thing I don’t like about this epic battle is the Rebels seem to not have Capital ships not worth much in a big fight. I would have loved to see some of them go toe to toe with the Star Destroyers think big battleship fight…in space…awesome.

I think picking a favorite lightsaber duel will be much tougher.

30 Day Star Wars Challenge

Leave a Reply

