30 Day Star Wars Blogging Challenge: Day Eight Favorite Original Trilogy movie

share

Day Eight Favorite Original Trilogy Movie

I have to preface this buy saying Return of the Jedi was my film as a child. I am a little too young to remember much of Star Wards before this movie came out. I do have a faint memory of seeing The Empire Strikes Back in the theaters but I was like 3 or 4 at the time. By the time Return of the Jedi hit theaters I was 7 and of course that was my movie. I saw it at least 25 times in theaters and maybe way more. I knew that movie by heart and was way into it.

As I grew up and became more sophisticated in my fanhood I realized that Empire is by far the superior film.  As I rule I almost always like the second movie of a trilogy more than the others save maybe the original Lord of the Rings…but the Hobbit Trilogy the second film is my favorite but that has more to do what was going on in my life than anything else.

empire

When we look at the films..and I mean creatively not in their ability to sell merchandise we see the Empire is the best film not only of the original trilogy but of all the Star Wars films. For the Force Awakens that is where the bar has been set, and I sincerely hope that it not only meets that challenge but rises above it. There has not been a classic Star Wars film since Empire and that was a very long time ago. 25 years to be exact.

So what’s makes Empire such a great film? Maybe it is the shocking conclusion…and make no mistake back in the day that was a huge reveal. Maybe it is Luke really beginning in training as the next Jedi. Maybe it is the battle on Hoth, or maybe it was just the fact that the Empire wasn’t going to just go away…they were going to fight and fight in a very unempire kind of way. There are no super weapons there is just cunning and quile which for me always makes for a better story. Maybe it is not any one thing and hopefully the people in charge of creating the new Star Wars films understand that.

30 Day Star Wars Challenge

Leave a Reply

