Reasons Why Detroit is awesome- Coney Dogs

detroit

I have lived in the Detroit area for most of my life. My grandfather worked at the Railroad Depot downtown for years and my son was born in Downtown Detroit. Detroit is a big part of my life, it will always be a big part of my career, and at the end of the day I am proud to be where I am from. Yes, Detroit has its problems but far too often those that do not live here take those problems and blow them out of proportion. Instead of focusing on the negative…let’s take a look at the positive.

dogs

Instead of a McDonald’s on every corner, a Applebee’s in every town, and a Wal Mart do go shopping in every community I truly believe that America is a great country because of all of its regions and yes all its differences. I am pretty lucky for most of my life I have gotten to travel all over this great country of ours and found that almost every city/region is known for one distinct food item. In Detroit for me that means Coney Dogs. And being a traditionalist I am going to say a Detroit Coney Dog is a steamed bun, natural casing hot dog, chili, onions, and mustard. That is not to say dogs can’t come any one of a hundred other ways but for a good Detroit dog that is the way to go.

lafayette

There is a legendary battle between the two brands of Detroit Coney Dogs. Downtown there are two Coney Islands right next to each other. One is Lafayette Coney…th best coney in Detroit and we shall not argue that point..the other is American Coney and only people out of the know actually eat there.

My favorite Lafayette story is when my buddy JT the Brick came to town and he wanted to go somewhere uniquely Detroit. We of course went to Lafayette sat with the cops and the hookers and I remember thinking to myself this is the coolest shit ever. Hanging out with the 7-11 crew with the guy whose radio show we listened and argued over every night and enjoying some awesome Detroit eats. I love the communal feeling of the big tables in Lafayette. Every time I go downtown to some event of to some sports game I always end up before or after enjoying a Detroit Coney Dog…I love it when the place fills up with fans. A Detroit institution without a doubt.

Leave a Reply

